App Store Reviews

Write your own review!

This app is the best!

by Aikifiddler (USA) on 4/30/2014 (v.3.4.5)

I have been a Set List Maker user for about 1 year to-date and it has come a long way in this time. The current version is brilliant, rock solid stable, works seamlessly with Bluetooth Hands Free Page Turning pedals. It does everything that I want it to do plus a whole lot more. It has to be the best Music Sheet and Set List Management tool available for iPad.

A must buy for weekend warriors

by rolandvg99 (Norway) on 4/14/2014 (v.3.4.5)

A real life saver: on a dark stage, at rehearsals and for keeping all your lyrics and chord related stuff. The MIDI functions are killer and let me control both my roland VG-99 and this app from the same floor board. Apps like this is what made me buy an iPad in the first place.

Amazing tool

by "big shoes" (Canada) on 2/15/2014 (v.3.4.5)

Can't say enough thanks for this ridiculously cool, easy to use and learn music tool. Been using it for about 8 months without one issue. If you are thinking about it don,t... Just do it now. Seriously .

Great app

by Jokers hill (Canada) on 2/10/2014 (v.3.4.5)

I am a keyboardist running 2 rigs. This app is not only great as a set maker, but the midi side is incredible. I would recommend this to any musician.

Set lists, backing tracks? I use it all the time!

by Maarten74 (Netherlands) on 2/7/2014 (v.3.4.5)

Great tool to manage all my set lists. Drag, drop & save. I also use the app as a player for my backing tracks. The scrolling lyrics feature is awesome.

With one of my other bands I connect a midi pedalboard (Behringer 1010) to scroll through the lyrics and pages. So now I can play the guitar and scroll using my feet.

Support is terrific as well. Lots of updates, bugfixes, new features and if you have a question, Arlo answers them as soon as possible.

Considering the small price: 5 stars!

Time-Saving Organizer!

by FredGardner (USA) on 2/2/2014 (v.3.4.5)

This is a seriously helpful program and I literally use it every day! When I think of a song I want to play, I Internet-search the chords and lyrics and drop them into my set list. This operation is very fast and it encourages me to add content to my set lists.

I have three distinct musical projects right now and everything I need for each of them is in its own database. Once in a while I copy a song from one database to another.

I use my iPad 1 on stage. The songs are set to scroll in the Perform mode and this is very useful. If required by the audience I can quickly change to an unplanned song. Also, if my iPad were to fail, I have the synced program on an iPod as a back up.

I was covering a song that has an orchestral prelude. I used a synth to replicate the orchestration to an mp3, then placed the mp3 in the set list song. When I Perform the song, the mp3 plays for about 30 seconds then I begin playing guitar as the orchestra fades... Very cool!

If you play solo or in a group and find organizing you songs, lyrics, and shows to be time-consuming and inefficient, this IS your program.

Once you start using Set List Maker you will quickly realize that the programs is much deeper than you first expect.

This is my favorite and most used iPad program! My thanks to the Developer!

Well thought out!

by Guitarry (USA) on 12/19/2013 (v.3.4.1)

There is only praise that can be dedicated to this app. For all it does the price is amazing. I use this to bring up lyrics, change the sounds on multiple hardware synths, play backing tracks, plan gig time lines, arrange set lists, notes. This app has never crashed on me unlike competitive apps. The new features are great. Logical Navigation! Features continue to be added. I use another set list app when I have to for lyrics projection to wall, otherwise this one is the best for most band purposes for me.

This is not a simple toy, it is a professionally designed tool which will aid you in your performance craft in many ways that may be required. If it doesn't do something now it probably will later as the app designer is amazingly responsive and actually listens to recommendations.

I find that even though it has deep features it is well thought out and does not require lots of time to figure out. The manual is clear to read. The app website is informative. Great app!

Unpaid Praise from happy user!

Update: This product continues to be refined, for those with Midi instruments playing live can be endless switching patches. It's nice to have set list maker take care of time consuming tasks. This is the Swiss Army knife of stage. With notes, lyrics, Auto song advancement feature. Too much to list. The help website for the app teaches well.
---
BTW, Before downloading, In-app purchases are always listed in its tab section, so I don't understand why anyone would say they were not informed of in-app. These are petty gripes for an outstanding application. Try it now, pay the few bucks for eternal bliss.

Superb

by Chris Kaye (Germany) on 12/23/2013 (v.3.4.1)

I am using a version 1 iPad (running on IOsys 5) which is hooked up to an Alesis IO Docking Station. What is really superb is the possibility to combine MIDI presets with MIDI raw data. By this, my keyboards are being set up exactly the way I need them before starting with the next title (i. e. setting the modulation wheel's level to the desired value while simultaneously lowering the expression pedal, so the strings won't overlay the epiano during the intro). And I love to run the app's audio output through the monitor speakers, so our drummer can pick up the exact beat by listening to the first strokes of the click track. Great piece of work.

Incredible!

by amazedandconfused (USA) on 12/13/2013 (v.3.4.1)

After getting the hang of it, this app is just amazing! The depth of features for the price is unbelievable! The one-on-one customer support from the developer is the best I have encountered in 30 years of computing! I have NO idea how he does it but I'm glad he does!

P.S. there is a slight learning curve but very reasonable in view if the feature set (which is phenomenal!)

Absolutely Fantastic

by RVR57 (USA) on 12/13/2013 (v.3.4.1)

A feature rich product! I've been using it in our band and it works perfectly. Set List Maker just keeps getting better with every update. We'd be lost without it!

1000% productivity increase

by Midisound Productions (USA) on 11/27/2013 (v.3.3.14)

This app revolutionized my live pianist/vocalist performances. No longer do I lug around several 3-ring binders of music and fumble through pages falling out as I try to find some song. The automated page turner in Perform mode prevents me from ripping out pages on the fly. I have already scanned in almost 400 songs, many of which I haven't played in decades. I can now instantly access any of these songs should I have any requests.

I've had this iPad & this app for only 7 months and I am already a much better performer. My lyrics (which I've always had trouble memorizing) and chords are all right there. My live repertoire has and is expanding exponentially.

I look forward to using the MIDI functions to sent messages to my digital piano and synth in order to change settings on the fly such as patch, tempo, controller and other messages. That way when I flip to a new song, all instruments and sequences are doing what they are supposed to do.

I am still just scratching the surface of where I'm going. This intuitive interface Arlo has developed is just the miracle I needed to advance my musical endeavors. Thank you.

Fantastic App and Stellar Support

by aptholly (USA) on 11/20/2013 (v.3.3.14)

This is an incredible bargain. You can tell that the developer either is a working musician or listens carefully to input from the user community. A couple of features require purchasing add ons like midi and document input support but it is WELL worth the minor charge. A complete IPAD package for managing set list, including lyrics, sending midi messages, and displaying notes, chords etc. in a live situation. It's quickly becoming an invaluable part of my stage set up.

Amazing!

by Peter Michelini (USA) on 9/19/2013 (v.3.3.10)

This app is well thought out. I've used this in performance many times on an ipad and it works great. To have all my lyrics in front of me and easy to move through is great. If you have a song with longer lyrics, you can set it begin slowly scrolling through the lyrics at a set interval of time - very adjustable. Also works with Airturn so you can trigger this by a foot pedal. A great feature I like as a guitarist is that it can send midi to another program. I use Jamup Pro for all my guitar effects. I have it set so that as soon as I select the next song, a preset from Jamup Pro is automatically selected. If I have other presets in the song, I use my 4-pedal airturn pedal to select them. There are too many features to talk about here, but just wanted to mention a few that are indispensable to me.

The developer is very responsive to questions and suggestions, and often comes out with new features.

This is a must-have for any musician.

Great App

by rdownton (Canada) on 5/8/2013 (v.3.3.6)

This is a great app for managing song lists and has become a critical part of my workflow for rehearsal, jamming and gigs. The support from Arlo is also first rate. I would very highly recommend this app for any musicians that need to keep track of set lists or just keep their listing of songs organized.

Wow

by Damian Erskine (USA) on 12/13/2013 (v.3.3.2)

This is a game changer. The amount of information that is storable and organizable here goes far beyond set-lists. This is one of the few apps out there that could only have been created by a musician or developer working closely with ACTUAL working musicians. This is how I make my living and this app just made my life better. That's what tech is supposed to do, right? awesome

An app that continues to improve

by Nickels4cbear (USA) on 2/20/2013 (v.3.2.3)

I have been giving this app 5 stars since I started using it about two years ago. It was a great app when it started, but it has evolved into something so useable and so fantastic that I wish I could give it 6 stars. It always had a lyric functionality (which I used all the time), but it was fairly limited. One of the latest updates has blown me away with how easy using live lyrics has become. It's awesome for keeping the band on the same page (we sync our set lists together) and its great for keeping my personal set lists separate from the band. The app has become so versatile that anyone who uses set lists will be able to get more than they thought they needed or even expected out of it.

Great tool!

by Funbroker (USA) on 2/6/2013 (v.3.2.2)

I've been using this app for over a year and I love it. Fantastic feature set for the money. They are constantly tweaking, improving and upgrading. Customer service is great too. I manage sets for four different musical projects and I'd be lost without this app. Get it.

Great app, great support

by Hans Jong (Netherlands) on 1/4/2013 (v.3.1.1)

Set List Maker is the best set list app out there, period. The developer is very open for suggestions, and the range of options within this app is supreme. The best!

Incredibly Intelligently Designed App

by Golfie the rabbit (USA) on 11/16/2012 (v.3.0.5)

I originally puchased this app for its basic setlist features but was amazed to find a wealth a features for managing my entire show. I have the app runnng on an iPod Touch at live shows using a Bluetooth footswitch to change songs and open lyrics. Each song change sends MIDI data to initiallize all our gear, including tempos, DMX lighting setups and more. I can broadcast my live setlist to other band members - or they can sync my data and run thier own. And at rehearsals, I have direct access to all our recordings for reference.

You can tell this app is written by someone who understands the needs of working musicians.

Awesome App and Support

by Okie6gun (USA) on 9/27/2012 (v.3.0.1)

This app does it all and then some... the ability to upgrade set lists with band members AUTOMATICALLY AND EFFORTLESSLY makes life grand. Attaching songs to your set list is great for practice. ("How did that intro start?") I take it on my iPad right on the stage and have access to notes, keys, lyrics, charts... whatever I choose to include. I dont use but half of its features but thats twice as much as any similar app. The developer is GREAT with his support as well. Get this app with no hesitation... you won't be disappointed.

This app is awesome

by Six String Picker (UK) on 9/17/2012 (v.3.0)

I have been a Set List Maker user for about 1 year to-date and it has come a long way in this time. The current version is brilliant, rock solid stable, works seamlessly with Bluetooth Hands Free Page Turning pedals. It does everything that I want it to do plus a whole lot more. It has to be the best Music Sheet and Set List Management tool available for iPad.

The developer is very helpful, listens to feedback and more importantly acts on any suggestions.

It is very intuative to use and is perfect in a live performance setting.

A "must have" tool for any musician irrespective of musical genre.

Very Cool App

by InfraEnginner (USA) on 6/27/2012 (v.2.2.6)

I have looked at a couple other solutions out there and by far this one is the easiest to use and provides all the functionality (and more) than I could have envisioned for a free app. I did purchase the little add-ins which I find both useful and reasonably priced given lack of alternatives. I would highly recommend this to other musicians with iPads.

I also contacted support with feedback and received a response within 10 minutes. Great response and great value!

Great app for musicians

by Sk8cate (USA) on 6/22/2012 (v.2.3.1)

Love, love, LOVE the new update with the smart lists, especially being able to organize songs by key. Brilliant. This is my favorite iPad app. It's revolutionized the way I prepare for and lead worship.

All bands need this!

by stephen pierce (USA) on 6/22/2012 (v.2.2.3)

This is an amazingly genius app. I find myself scrambling to make a set list each night because I usually am concerned with so many other things on show nights, but with this app I can actually have a drink and socialize in between sets. The color labeling option is perfect to help create a set that has diversity that isn't too abrupt. I use faster songs as red, mellow ones as green, and soulful or bluesy songs as purple, giving me the visualization of a spectrum and using that to have better flow each night. All bands should use this, it's lazy and impersonal to play the same set list every night.

The app comes with plenty of different ways for you to make notes and reminders for instrument changes, tuning changes, capo positions, lyrics, and anything else you need. It's as complex or as simple as you want it to be.

I have rarely written a review for apps nor felt the urge to do so, however this app deserves praise for being such a great idea. Plus when I emailed for suggestions, the creator actually read it...and emailed me back! Download it, and use it!

Great app

by Spiderz band (UK) on 6/21/2012 (v.2.3.1)

I can't recommend this enough, it's brilliant. Attaching PDF charts is very easy and works really well. I'm now connecting to a keyboard to send midi patch info so when I call up a chart, it also sets the keyboard to the correct sound. Saves so much time.

And, it's FREE. I would have paid for it.

Great app

by 13 for Life (USA) on 6/20/2012 (v.2.3.1)

Playing in a duo live and this app rocks! Everything in one place. We sync our set lists easily. Walks you through your set song by song. Developer said they were working on auto scroll feature - which will make app perfect in my eyes. Developer also quick to respond to comments. If you play out live and carry binders of lyrics, charts, and set lists.... You will love what this app can do for you.

Keeps getting better

by easybake4 (USA) on 6/18/2012 (v.2.3.1)

I use this live, MIDIed to my kb setup and it saves me a lot of time and effort between songs. Great app, very useful and feature-rich. And it gets better with the new update.

A great app, well worth the extras

by Andy Grant (UK) on 6/17/2012 (v.2.2.1)

I love this app, and the developer has clearly gone to lengths to listen to feedback for the community and enhance it. Great to be able to import from an iTunes playlist, and to email it out to band members etc. Nothing else like it on the app store, keep up the good work Arlo!

Brilliant App

by BrenU (Australia) on 6/9/2012 (v.2.3)

This app is Gold!!! & should be a must for all performing musicians.

Quite simply, the ability to organize and carry all my sets, recordings & charts together in a neat database is priceless!!!

I've sampled a few of the other offerings out there with regards to set/chart management software but Set List Maker is the best!

The features of Set List are powerful & almost never ending... It has been a joy to keep discovering what the app can actually do.

It works intuitively & just gets better with every update, the latest of which (2.3) has basically answered all of my wishes... I look forward to the future releases.

Great Work!!!!!

A must have app for musicians!

by Jeffrey Friend (USA) on 6/7/2012 (v.2.2.5)

I've been using another program (no longer supported) for a year or so, and dreaded the thought of trying to find an app that was as easy to use. I'm a drummer, and I just need to create set lists of songs with either a lyric sheet or a chart so I can remember the structure. So, when I saw this app, I thought I would give it a try.

One word... PERFECT. I create all my charts in Pages, save them as pdfs, and add them to the app using iTunes. Easy-as-pie. Not only does it do what I need easily, it also has a great metronome with a tap feature, that can be set for visual cue. You can also jot notes during a rehearsal for quick reminders. Did I mention that you can add recorded tracks to each song? Great for creating a timed mix of break music, or tracks for solo performance. The developer (Arlo) is quite responsive and has also created a number of videos on his site that show you all of the features quickly and clearly. You really owe it to yourself to give this app a try. It's very well thought out.

Great app for performing musicians

by Phowes (Canada) on 6/6/2012 (v.2.2.7)

The functionality that has been incorporated into this app is fantastic.

The developer must be a performing musician because the app is designed just the way you would want for a performance setting - and when you send suggestions they respond back very quickly, and then in the next upgrade you see them incorporated (if the suggestions were any good)

Highly recommended.

More than meets the eye!

by CopyriteBand (Australia) on 4/29/2012 (v.2.2.6)

As a working cover band we are forever trying to refine our setup and this app goes a long way to streamlining it. Originally wanting a simple setlist "compiler", we've since found this app to be much more powerful. Syncing our setlist with other band members is fantastic.

Arlo has been super responsive to any questions I've had and I highly recommend this app to any musician that wants to streamline their setup.

One of those apps that you wonder how you ever got along without

by Marc Sabatella (USA) on 3/1/2012 (v.2.2.2)

Obviously, this isn't an app that everyone has a need for. But for those of us who lead bands, it is truly a godsend - the sort of thing that really justifies having an iPad in the first place. In my case, I am an educator directing several different combos and a big band, plus my own personal projects. I use this app to track the pieces we are working on in rehearsal, to help prepare set lists for gigs, and then to act as my set list and metronome (already programmed with the right tempos) at the gig, plus my notes on who solos on what for talking to the audience, and even the charts themselves. I plan to also use this to help me plan the track listing for upcoming CD's, and I'm sure I'll find more uses as well.

The developer is extremely responsive about fixing bugs and adding features. So if you see older reviews from people who have had problems, you can absolutely bet those problems have been fixed - assuming they weren't just user error, which a lot of the reports in older reviews sound like to me.